Texas contractor licensing

How to Get a Contractor License in San Marcos, Texas

San Marcos requires a Contractor's License / Registration from the city for foundation repair and general contracting. It costs $175.

City contractor registration in San Marcos

RegistrationContractor's License / Registration (Building)
CoversFoundation repair and general contracting
Fee$175 (initial; $144 renewal; all licenses expire on the last day of the calendar year). Amounts from the application form updated September 2026. The development fee schedule effective October 1, 2025 lists $170 initial and $140 annual renewal.
ExperienceAttach a written description of your last two construction projects with start and end dates and contact phone numbers; the Building Official verifies construction experience.
InsuranceNo insurance requirement appears on the application form. Source
Processing timeNot published. Call 512-805-2630.
RenewalAnnual; expires December 31.
Before a permitYou must be registered before the permit is issued

How to register

  1. Write up your last two construction projects with dates and contact numbers.
  2. Apply online at MGOConnect.org with a current driver's license.
  3. Pay the $175 initial fee.
  4. Renew by the end of each calendar year ($144).

Official registration page

What each trade needs in San Marcos

Foundation repairNot ratedContractor's License / Registration, Building category$175
General contractingEasy · 4Contractor's License / Registration, Building category$175
RoofingNot ratedContractor's License / Registration, Building category$175
PlumbingHard or harder · 62+Contractor's License / Registration, Plumbing category
ElectricalHard or harder · 58+Contractor's License / Registration, Electrician category
HVACHard or harder · 52+Contractor's License / Registration, Mechanical category
IrrigationModerate · 28Contractor's License / Registration, Irrigation category$62
Concrete flatworkNot ratedResidential$105
Drainage and detentionNot ratedSite Preparation permit / Watershed Protection Plan$2,100
DemolitionNot ratedDemolition permit$105

Tap a column to sort. Each trade opens its Texas comparison by city, and fees link to the official fee page, checked October 18, 2026. Plumbing, electrical, HVAC and irrigation also need a Texas state license, which no city registration replaces.

Foundation repair, roofing, concrete flatwork, drainage and detention work, and demolition are not rated because their rules are not fully published.

How the difficulty score works

Details for each trade

Foundation repair

Local ruleContractor's License / Registration, Building category (building contractor license).
ExperienceAttach a written description of your last two construction projects with start and end dates and contact phone numbers; the Building Official verifies construction experience.
Engineer letterThe building permit application lists a foundation plan with details and an engineer's seal 'if required'; the official pages do not say when a repair needs one. Ask Planning and Development Services.
Permit fee$0.16 (Foundation Permit, per square foot)

Apply online at MGOConnect.org or at Planning and Development Services, 630 East Hopkins, with a current driver's license. The applicant certifies familiarity with Code Chapter 14 and the adopted building codes.

Foundation work needs a Foundation Permit ($0.16 per square foot) and the contractor's city license number on the application.

Prepare the foundation plan with details (engineer's seal if the city requires it).

Checked October 18, 2026 against San Marcos contractor license application; San Marcos fee schedule; San Marcos building permit application.

General contracting (residential remodels, additions and home improvement)

Local ruleContractor's License / Registration, Building category (building contractor license).
ExperienceAttach a written description of your last two construction projects with start and end dates and contact phone numbers; the Building Official verifies construction experience.

Remodels and additions need a building permit listing the contractor's city license number.

Submit the building permit application and plans through MGOConnect.org.

Checked October 18, 2026 against San Marcos contractor license application; San Marcos building permit application; San Marcos fee schedule.

Roofing

Local ruleContractor's License / Registration, Building category (building contractor license).
Permit fee$0.10 (Roofs, per square foot, maximum $2,000)
Before the permitYou must be registered before the permit is issued

Roofs have a permit fee in the schedule. Which license category the roofer needs is not stated; the license form lists Building, Plumbing, Mechanical, Irrigation, Electrician and Swimming Pool. Ask Planning and Development Services.

Re-roofs carry a city permit fee of $0.10 per square foot (maximum $2,000).

Confirm with the city which license category covers roofing.

Checked October 18, 2026 against San Marcos fee schedule; San Marcos contractor license application.

Plumbing

Local ruleContractor's License / Registration, Plumbing category.
FeeThe registration form lists $62 a year (the October 2025 fee schedule says $60). State law bars a city registration fee for state-licensed plumbers (Occupations Code 1301.551(g)), so ask the city whether it charges one. Fee schedule

Register with the state license number and a driver's license. The city form lists a $62 annual fee for this category, but state law bars cities from charging licensed plumbers, electricians and ACR contractors a registration fee (Occupations Code 1301.551(g), 1305.201(f), 1302.304); ask the city whether the fee is still collected.

Plumbing work needs a trade permit ($63 residential stand-alone) by a city-registered plumber.

Register the TSBPE license with the city ($62 per year).

Checked October 18, 2026 against San Marcos contractor license application; San Marcos fee schedule.

Electrical

Local ruleContractor's License / Registration, Electrician category.
FeeThe registration form lists $62 a year (the October 2025 fee schedule says $60). State law bars a city registration fee for state-licensed electricians (Occupations Code 1305.201(f)), so ask the city whether it charges one. Fee schedule

Electrical work needs a trade permit by a city-registered electrical contractor.

Register the TDLR license with the city ($62 per year).

Checked October 18, 2026 against San Marcos contractor license application.

HVAC

Local ruleContractor's License / Registration, Mechanical category.
FeeThe registration form lists $62 a year (the October 2025 fee schedule says $60). State law bars a city registration fee for state-licensed air conditioning contractors (Occupations Code 1302.304), so ask the city whether it charges one. Fee schedule

HVAC work needs a trade permit by a city-registered mechanical contractor.

Register the TDLR ACR license with the city ($62 per year).

Checked October 18, 2026 against San Marcos contractor license application.

Irrigation

Local ruleContractor's License / Registration, Irrigation category.
Fee$62 (annual registration; expires the last day of the calendar year). The October 2025 fee schedule lists $60 per year for other trade licenses.
Permit fee$105 (Irrigation System permit)

Register with the state license number and a driver's license.

A landscape irrigation system needs an Irrigation System permit ($105) by a city-registered irrigator.

Register the TCEQ license with the city ($62 per year).

Checked October 18, 2026 against San Marcos contractor license application; San Marcos fee schedule.

Concrete flatwork (driveways, sidewalks and work in the public right-of-way)

Local ruleResidential (Type I) Driveway or Sidewalk permit.

Driveway access uses the Access Driveway Application; work in the right-of-way uses the Right-of-Way Permit Application. Which contractor license or bond is needed is not stated.

A residential driveway or sidewalk needs a Type I Driveway or Sidewalk permit ($105).

  1. Submit the Access Driveway Application or Right-of-Way Permit Application.
  2. Pay the permit fee and build to city standards.

Checked October 18, 2026 against San Marcos fee schedule; San Marcos Access Driveway Application; San Marcos Right-of-Way Permit Application.

Drainage and detention (grading, drainage, stormwater and detention ponds)

Local ruleSite Preparation permit / Watershed Protection Plan.

Grading, drainage and detention are handled through site preparation permits and Watershed Protection Plans. No contractor registration category for this work was found; who must seal plans is not stated.

Site grading and detention go through a Site Preparation permit and, where required, a Watershed Protection Plan.

  1. Have the drainage and detention design prepared by a Texas PE.
  2. Apply for the Site Preparation permit or Small Site Permit.
  3. Build to the approved plan and pass the site final inspection.

Checked October 18, 2026 against San Marcos fee schedule; San Marcos applications list.

Demolition

Local ruleDemolition permit.

The demolition application asks for the contractor's license number; the license category is not stated.

Demolishing a house needs a residential demolition permit ($105).

Checked October 18, 2026 against San Marcos demolition permit application; San Marcos fee schedule.

San Marcos does not publish a local license or registration rule for roofing, concrete flatwork, drainage and detention work, and demolition. Ask Planning and Development Services before you bid that work.

Official sources and contacts

Planning and Development Services, 630 East Hopkins, 512-805-2630.

Rules and fees change, and this is not legal advice. Confirm with Planning and Development Services before you apply or bid.

Straight answers

Common questions about these rules

Yes. San Marcos requires a Contractor's License / Registration, Building category for foundation repair. It costs $175.
Registration costs $62 for landscape irrigation and $175 for foundation repair and general contracting. Checked October 18, 2026. A foundation repair permit adds $0.16.
The building permit application lists a foundation plan with details and an engineer's seal 'if required'; the official pages do not say when a repair needs one. Ask Planning and Development Services.